Change the Culture for Better!

 Based on writings in John Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress, the prophet Jeremiah’s instructions from God to the Israelites in Babylon, and other historical teachings Parshall builds her theses that we should be evangelists and also be involved in the culture. The “Market Place of Ideas” can be a trap and needs truths that God’s people understand.

 The author discusses issues prevalent in today’s society that are “bad ideas leading to bad choices with even worse consequences.” Followers of God need to actively counteract these ideas instead of being influenced by them. These include present day behaviors involving marriage, the family, materialism and the life of unborn, for example.

 A clearly thought out presentation, Buyer Beware can motivate people to consider better solutions to social problems. The author presents practical actions that range from easy to more difficult, but can impact the culture for good. Jeremiah’s message was to ‘work for the good of the city where you live’, because that brings peace for everyone as God desires.

Cover of book Buyer Beware by Janet Parshall

Buyer Beware by Janet Parshall

About samcivy

I read my first book a week after beginning first grade and haven't slowed down in seventy years. My system often wakes me in the night so I keep books on a chair in the bathroom and do a LOT of reading. I'm a free-lance writer/editor and review books for various authors as well as Thomas Nelson Publishers and Amazon.com. I will soon be posting books for a blog tour by KathyWillis.com, a book promoter.
This entry was posted in Christian books, Good books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Change the Culture for Better!

  1. Judith Robl says:

    I love the way Janet Parshall thinks.

  2. Sugel says:

    Understanding [her] suffering as random was hard for me, but I could never have understood it as part of an all-powerful god’s “plan.” If a god had planned that for my mom, I would have turned to Satan. There’s no plan I’ll get behind that includes that much suffering for anyone.

    • samcivy says:

      After two painful years of symptoms, three years ago I had chemotherapy and radiation for colon cancer. Since the treatments, I have suffered constant pain from the radiation damage that helped kill off my cancer. I KNOW that GOD is with me, cares about me, and understands what I suffer every day. NO WAY will I ever give up on God just because my life is limited and painful so far. I have had so many, many good things happen during these years that make the pain feel worth it all.

      Over the years (I’m 76) some of the happiest, most contented people I’ve ever met, also suffer a lot and love God deeply anyway. For example, see my latest blog post about Cecil Murphey and Twila Belk’s book, Because You Care.

      Nothing that we humans suffer can compare with what Jesus Christ suffered when he was crucified to pay for OUR sins that separated us from God.

      Geni J. White, RN, MS (aka sam c ivy)

Leave a Reply

