A First for me, to review Christian Sci-Fi! I LIKE!

 

  • Dawn Singer, Tales of Faeraven
  • Janalyn Voigt ©2012
  • Harbourlight Books, a division of Pelican Ventures
  • ISBN 978-1-61116-200-4 (ppbk.)
  • Also available as an e-book
  • 316 pplossary. plus glossary 

When summoned to the death bed of the High Queen, Lor Raelein, 16 year old Shae discovered that she was the High Queen’s daughter. As an infant, for protection she’d been sent to the Queen of Whellein for mothering.

 Kai was summoned to ride his wingabeast and fly Shae from Whellein to the high queen. He had known Shae as a sister but slowly realized he felt more than that for her.

 A prophecy predicted that when evil men tried to conquer the land, a Queen’s daughter would awaken the Dawn King to lead the country to victory. High Queen Lor Raelein’s enemies desperately wanted to destroy Shae, that daughter.
           At the palace someone poisoned the queen and Shae, but Shae managed to live. Kai and several others were assigned to guide her to the Dawn King to request his help. They were relentlessly pursued. Lor Yuel (the name for the one God–you and El) guided and protected them whenever they prayed.

 This fantasy tale has edge-of-the seat suspense on every page. The only difficulty is the many strange names of people, places and things. However, this naming is standard practice for the genre’, I suspect.

  A glossary at the end of the book defines the names, but I couldn’t tear myself from the story to flip back and read the definitions. The context helps understand some words, but the strange syllables do create a bit of distraction.

picture of book cover, Dawn Singer by Janalyn Voigt

Dawn Singer by Janalyn Voigt

Picture of author Janalyn Voigt

Janalyn Voigt

Where to buy:amazon.com

About samcivy

I read my first book a week after beginning first grade and haven't slowed down in seventy years. My system often wakes me in the night so I keep books on a chair in the bathroom and do a LOT of reading. I'm a free-lance writer/editor and review books for various authors as well as Thomas Nelson Publishers and Amazon.com. I will soon be posting books for a blog tour by KathyWillis.com, a book promoter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A First for me, to review Christian Sci-Fi! I LIKE!

  1. I’m honored that my book is the first Christian fantasy novel you’ve enjoyed. Thanks for the favorable review, and I hope you’ll read WayFarer, book two of Tales of Faeraven, when it comes out.

  2. Pingback: Announcing the Grand Prize Giveaway and Blog Tour (Win a $25 Starbucks Card & Signed Copy of DawnSinger) « Janalyn Voigt

Leave a Reply

