A Fun book on Procrastination

EAT THAT FROG!     Reviewed by Sam C. Ivy

          I’ve eaten frogs and tadpoles (raw) all week. I prefer tadpoles–they slide down easier. But a tadpole-full stomach can’t accommodate frogs!

        My tadpoles require little thought; sweep floors, do laundry, read the newspaper– activities my brain performs on automatic.

I avoid three personally important frogs: Learn to ride my unicycle; Study Chinese;Fingers on keyboard write, write, write.

Where did the frog/tadpole metaphor come from?  A book:

Eat That Frog, 21Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time
By Brian Tracy
Berrett-Koehler Publishers, Inc., 2007
ISBN ¨-13:   978-1-57675-422-1 (pbk)

This delightful (except for one point) book labels as frogs important jobs we avoid. I thought, ‘So what?’ but slogged from my pond of indifference when Tracy wrote that we all have too much to do. We’ll never catch up on everything.

He says we’ll accomplish more if we complete important tasks (the frogs) first. He says to eat those ugly frogs, then swallow tadpoles.

The author assigns frog status with an ABCDE plan. The A jobs produce the most, are urgent–and we dread them. Poor planning may be the source of our procrastination. Now, tempted by frog task avoidance, I admonish, “Eat that frog!” And obey!

B jobs, less urgent– tackle after completing A’s. C jobs (tadpoles)–save for free time. D jobs– delegate (have Fenny clean his bathroom!) and E jobs– (too many e-mails), eliminate.

We relish tadpoles because finished work creates self-worth, raises feel-good hormones, fills us with an empowering sense of success.

A fun book on procrastination recovery

Eat That Frog and be a better person

About samcivy

I read my first book a week after beginning first grade and haven't slowed down in seventy years. My system often wakes me in the night so I keep books on a chair in the bathroom and do a LOT of reading. I'm a free-lance writer/editor and review books for various authors as well as Thomas Nelson Publishers and Amazon.com. I will soon be posting books for a blog tour by KathyWillis.com, a book promoter.
This entry was posted in Excellent books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Fun book on Procrastination

  1. Robin says:

    Reading your comments on Eat that Frog, reminded me to focus this week as I take time to organize and reorganize things at home. I am grateful for books that address procrastination.

Leave a Reply

